It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2009, 01:24 PM   #1
(female)

Marysa22 HB User
Thumbs up LPR: How To Deal, Explained

Dear Fellow LPR Victims,

I am writing this post because was I was first diagnosed with LPR, I was an emotional basketcase. I was receiving a lot of contradictory advice from everyone (including my doctors), and my life would have been a lot easier had I heard someone who had come out the other end explain their experiences. I hope that by writing this post I will save someone some of the angst that I went through. What I am writing is based on my personal experience with LPR, and I do understand that LPR comes in many different forms. If you are feeling lost, confused, anxious, frustrated, and in pain, however, there is a commonality between us. I've been there.

I am a healthy college student. I am a healthy weight, I do not smoke or drink. For me, what probably triggered the LPR is that I am a singer, although this is only a theory and we do not really know what caused it. My main and most debilitating symptom was a sore throat that would not go away and major post-nasal drip. The pain I experienced ranged from a 1 on the pain scale to an 8, and it NEVER WENT AWAY. It would wax and wane, but it persisted for a solid 6 months, and took away most of my joy in life during that time. While I am normally a very bubbly, optimistic, and energetic person, LPR transformed me into a weepy, self-pitying, anxious homebody. My social life was shot and doing simple office work during my summer vacation (a job that would normally be a breeze for me) was extremely trying.