It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2010, 10:34 AM   #1
(female)

lisakatd HB User
Neti Pot & Ear Pressure!

I've had a severe cold for a month. Doctor suggested trying neti pot. I got one and tried it... It wasn't working at all because I'm so congested. No water would come out either nostril. I kept trying maybe 5 - 10 times on each side, no luck. This is my first time using one.

Next morning I wake up with a blocked ear on the right side. As time goes by it becomes very very painful. I go to an Urgent Care and he says I have full blown ear infection and throat infection and prescribes antibiotics which I'm now taking.

I think the main test will be to see if this goes away once I complete the antibiotics. What I fear though is that my use of the neti pot has caused water to be lodged in my middle ear. Since I started the antibiotics, only taken one so far, it feels better... the pain has decreased, but the fullness blocked feeling is still there.

Should I assume that my eustachian tube has water stuck? I'm really scared based on the stories I've been reading. My intuition tells me I do have water in there, and I would really like to know what I should do.

Note: Prior to this incident, I popped my ears by closing my mouth/nose and that side (the right side) would barely pop, and when it did I got real dizzy. I thought, oh I better go get my ears cleaned. I went to the doctor last week and she said they looked fine minus a little fluid (this was Wed.). I did the neti pot that Friday, then had to go to Urgent Care on Saturday.

Do you think I could have developed this "full blown" ear infection in one night? Or based on what I'm saying was my ear already acting up?