It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2010, 08:21 PM   #1
(male)

Danny G HB User
Question Left ear feels stuffed and 'ringing' sound to it

Hi. This is my first time ever visiting here and i hope to get some good answers.
This could be a very long read so please bear with me as i try to be as clear as possible.

So let's begin.
Last week ( 31st May '10 - Monday ), i got up to a scary blocked feeling in my left ear. It feels like cabin pressure when you're in a plane, or, you're underwater. The night before that was fine. So i quickly got my wife to shine a light in my ear to see if there's anything lodged in there - say, an insect or something. She saw nothing unusual. I quickly went to the clinic and the doctor told me it's rather red on the inside of my left ear and gave me an ear-drop (Fracitin - Framycetin Sulf 0.5%). She also said if it persists, come back in a week time.
(Edit : Forgot to mention that i had a pretty bad case of fever and cold a week prior to my first visitation)

I did everything i was told and went back to the clinic yesterday (8 days after the initial visit) due to the fact that the 'clogged' feeling seems to be getting worse. This time, it's got a 'ringing' tone to it. During the evening when it's quiet, the 'ringing' seems to be getting a lot louder. So, I was seen by a different doctor this time. He took a look in both my ears and said it 'might' (hate it when a doctor is not sure) be fungal infection. I really don't like this doctor as he seems to be unsure about a lot of things during my one visit with him yesterday. He prescribed me with a different ear-drop this time. It's Candazole Clotrimazole 1.0%.

I know i'm supposed to give it time to work but as said, the doctor seems to be a little dodgy and unsure about a lot of things when asked.