It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2010, 02:42 PM   #1
(male)

JohnC1981 HB User
Dehydration, dry mouth, near-fainting after prolonged music exposure

Dear all,

I've been coping with numerous idiopathic (i.e. can't figure out why) vestibular issues since 2007, when I had my first episode of BPPV. I've had two recurrences since then, luckily, but have noticed in the past two weeks a strange phenomenon, and I'm not sure what the cause is. Nothing has changed in my diet except that I have started taking an adult chewable multivitamin (can't get myself to swallow the big pills regularly). I also tanned for two minutes in a tanning both twice two weeks ago.

The real culprit, however, is that I am a musician and sing, play guitar and piano somewhat regularly. Usually I wear custom-made musicians earplugs, which are noise-attenuating. However, sometimes I do not use these, because I simply cannot hear the music as well, and they are very uncomfortable. I also listen to music in my car, which amounts to about 20 minutes per day, at a modest volume. I retired use of my earbud headphones because they were causing ringing in my ears.