It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2011, 08:04 PM   #1
(female)

erinq HB User
swollen lymph nodes/neck shoulder pain. please help.

Hi. I am a 23 year old female, and a smoker. I have been smoking for almost 10 years, and recently i noticed that i had a really large bump in my neck, right below my jaw on the left side. I also found one more small bump on my left side, and my shoulder/neck is really stiff. I went to a doctor about 3 months ago, who told me that it was "the way i carry myself"..he said i favored my left side, and therefore fluid got built up in my lymph nodes. I didnt buy it, and found out later that "the way i carry myself" wouldnt have caused lymph node inflimation. i also thought that it may have been my tooth, so i went to a dentist, and he filled some cavitys but said there was no infection. My lymph nodes didnt get better, if anything i feel like they grew a little on my left (they are completly normal on my right side)..and my neck was bothering me so much that i went to another doctor, this time an ear nose and throat docter. he doctor felt my lymph nodes and told me he "saw what i meant"....he looked in my ears and down my throat and couldnt find anything abnormal....then he said i needed to get a blood test and CT scan with contrast. I have done both, but the doctor made an appointment for a month from the day i saw him. I am literaly losing my mind. the fist thought i have in the morning is "omg do i have cancer" and the last thought is the same, and i think about it all day, unable to focus on school or anything else. I feel like I cant enjoy anything anymore because i am so sidetracked with the thought of having cancer. I have a little over 2 weeks till my next appointment, and i am losing it. I called to get my results over the phone and they wouldnt give them to me, and then