It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
(female)

pegjk58 HB User
Post Recommended for Stapedectomy

Hi all - I'm a newbie to this forum but wanted to ask others their opinion on stapedectomy procedures. I have been recommended for the procedure and am trying to do my homework on what to expect. It's a bit scary but ultimately I would like to have my hearing back! I'm also curious as to the cost of this procedure and whether or not a good health insurance plan will cover it?

Any advice would be appreciated!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-09-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
(female)

billcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB Userbillcindy1 HB User
Re: Recommended for Stapedectomy

Hello...

I have had both of my ears fixed with stapedectomies and I am so happy that i did. It is really great to have hearing back in surround sound...I only had one of my ears done back in 1993 and thought why bother doing the other when I can hear great out of one..but I did get my other done this year and so happy that I did. I had to have my other ear redone in 2011 due to my incus eroding and causing the piston to dislodge. So i have experienced no hearing and also wore a hearing aid.

My insurance covered it all..and for myself I was out of work for one week. I did have the dizziness for a few days.. honestly if I had to do it again I would. It was well worth in my opinion anyway.

Cindy

The Following User Says Thank You to billcindy1 For This Useful Post:
pegjk58 (12-10-2012)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-10-2012, 09:50 AM   #3
(female)

pegjk58 HB User