It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2013, 07:32 PM   #1
(female)

jnn HB User
Vocal abuse

Ironically, I am a speech therapist, and I hurt my vocal cords about a years ago working with older population with hearing loss. It has been worse in the past 6 months.
I also have reflux, but no very often, maybe 3-4 times a week that I am aware of. I also have allergy problem with sinus issues.

My symptoms are:
- pain when talking (especially the second half of the day at work)
- pain on swallow by the end of the day
- pain at rest when it gets more severe (at the end of the week).
- increased mucous on my vocal cords
There is not any change of my vocal quality or intensity though.

I took a two week vacation last month and it got a little bit better. But it got worse again when I went back to work.

Any insight and any home remedy to recommend, besides vocal rest??

Thank you very much!

Mae

Old 03-24-2013, 08:29 PM   #2
(female)

Beehappee HB User
Re: Vocal abuse

Silent acid reflux can exhibit all your symptoms. You do not need to have acid reflux to show signs of all those other symptoms. I just finished nexium for silent acid reflux. My nose has quit running now, and, it's easier to swallow. You can be hoarse from it too. If I were you I'd go to an ear nose and throat doctor and get checked out. It's too important to fool around with. Good luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-25-2013, 02:07 PM   #3
(female)

jnn HB User

Thanks for the input Beehappee. My symptoms started with excessive talking to 2 very hard of hearing patients I had a year ago. But I am sure that the acid reflux gets it worse....
I can't take medication for reflux now because I am planning on getting pregnancy soon. Do you have any home remedy for reflux?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beehappee View Post