It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2013, 09:54 PM   #1
(female)

dryad271 HB User
Cool Contact ulcers on vocal cord?

Hi! This is my first post here since...2006? I used to post here when I was recovering from thyroid cancer. It's been a while.

Anyone else with contact ulcers on their vocal cords? I'm a teacher, so this has been a problem for me on and off for over a decade, but I just completed a course of voice therapy that really seems to help. My voice fatigues a bit more slowly now that I'm practicing what I learned in therapy (fairly religiously though not perfectly) and the ulcer I had from Christmas until late February seemed to be staying off the radar.

Unfortunately I had some kind of nasty upper respiratory virus this weekend, and the attendant coughing has now set it off again. It's not terrible right now, and I am very glad I took 3 days off work (since I didn't have ANY voice for two of those days, it wasn't a difficult choice) but I am determined to nip this sucker in the bud.

I'm thinking of taking some prednisone in the morning (one dose - about 12.5 mg) just to see if it will interrupt the inflammation sufficiently to keep it from going full-on. I can't take another six to eight weeks of pain. I'm doing a few herbal/nutritional things too. Does anyone have experience here, any suggestions? thanks!

Old 04-12-2013, 12:03 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

ladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB User
Re: Contact ulcers on vocal cord?

Was there any mention of GERD as a possible cause of the ulcers? The refluxed gastric acids can burn the vocal cords and cause ulceration, swelling, hoarseness. Treating the GERD, if present, is key to keeping the ulcers away.