It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2013, 10:26 PM   #1
(male)

VRay HB User
Intracapsular tonsillectomy - My Experience

I'm writing this because I had a hard time finding first person accounts from individuals that had the intracapsular tonsillectomy, so hopefully this will help someone in the future prepare a little better if they must have this surgery. Disclaimer: I'm not a doctor. Anything I say in this post is my opinion / experience only and should not be taken as medical advice. This post is meant to give the reader a better idea of what the recovery process is like for the partial tonsillectomy surgery.

Some background information: I'm a 27 year old male, in pretty good physical condition (workout 5-6 days per week). I've always had issues with my tonsils -- Lots of strep throat infections when I was younger and ever since I can remember I've had issues with tonsil stones.

Saw an ENT a few weeks ago and he suggested a intracapsular tonsillectomy (aka partial tonsillectomy). This is where they remove the majority of the tonsils, but leave about 10% of the base tonsil tissue so they don't harm the throat muscles. This is supposed to greatly reduce the recovery time.

The ENT acknowledged that there would be some pain, but said that compared to a traditional tonsillectomy, it would be MUCH less painful and recovery is much faster.