It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eating Disorder Recovery Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2006, 07:16 PM   #1

nausnowangel HB User
Eating Disorder?

Hi! I am 23 and think that I could have an eating disorder but am not sure so I thought I would ask others to see what you think. About a year and a half ago I had my gallbladder removed (gallstones and inflammation), and after having the surgery had a very bad problem with diarreha - anything I ate went through me almost instantly. I didn't know what to do about it so I went to the doctor and they told me to try to cut back on fat in my diet to see if that helps. So, I did that slightly and it didn't do much, but over the course of a few months kept cutting back until I was eating under 20 a day. At this point the diarreha got better. Around this time I started student teaching (I'm a teacher now, 1st year) and at that point started to count calories - I taught with a bunch of women who were older and watching their weight, I think that's where I got the idea from. For most of student teaching I at 1300 calories a day and was down to 104 at my lowest point - I also always felt sick and would start to black out at times. During this time I was also planning my wedding (married now). Family and friends told me at the time that I had to be anorexic but I was sure I was not. I also lost my period during this time and have been EXTREMELY regular most of my life. Towards the end of student teaching and then after I got married, I started to eat more (1500 or thereabouts), but still only that low amount of fat. I got my period back and gained 5 pounds so people stopped bugging me about it. But then since I've started teaching, I had gained another 10 pounds which put me at 120 - the acceptable weight for my height. But I was very unhappy weighing that much - I was eating stuff right out of the bag or box, I thin