It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eating Disorder Recovery Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2010, 04:08 PM   #1
(female)

nicole60614 HB User
Laxative abuse recovery

I just stumbled upon this thread and it's given me a lot of hope. I have been abusing laxatives for probably about 7 years now. I have thought about quitting a few times but it has come to the point where I know I need to now. It seems like everyone has quit cold turkey but I am terrified of being completely "blocked up" with no bowel movement (which has happened if I don't take any lax for a day or two). Has anyone tried or known anyone who has successfully weened off? For those who have had a successful recovery, I was wondering what you have found to be the best things to eat/drink. I'm a vegan so already get plenty of fresh fruits & veggies so I'm afraid this will not be enough for my system to become regular again. I'd greatly appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

Old 01-01-2011, 08:52 AM   #2
(female)

isolde HB User
Exclamation Re: Laxative abuse recovery...an encouraging story.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicole60614 View Post
I just stumbled upon this thread and it's given me a lot of hope. I have been abusing laxatives for probably about 7 years now. I have thought about quitting a few times but it has come to the point where I know I need to now. It seems like everyone has quit cold turkey but I am terrified of being completely "blocked up" with no bowel movement (which has happened if I don't take any lax for a day or two). Has anyone tried or known anyone who has successfully weened off? For those who have had a successful recovery, I was wondering what you have found to be the best things to eat/drink. I'm a vegan so already get plenty of fresh fruits & veggies so I'm afraid this will not be enough for my system to become regular again. I'd greatly appreciate any advice.

Thanks!