It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eating Disorder Recovery Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2011, 02:23 PM   #1
(female)

beeefree83 HB User
Do i have an eating disorder?

i am 119 pounds and a teen, i eat but not a lot.
its hard to eat without feeling bad afterwards and sometimes before.
people say i am getting too skinny but i see myself as large.

i exercise but sometimes i dont get to do it and then i feel bad for not doing it, i obtain from fatty foods and measure what i eat, i only plan to eat about 1500 calories or less a day.
thank you

Last edited by mod85; 10-13-2011 at 05:07 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-17-2011, 02:02 PM   #2
(female)

jamie4444 HB Userjamie4444 HB User
Re: Do i have an eating disorder?

Hi,

First of all, I am not a doctor or a therapist. I would suggest talking to a doctor or therapist for further information and to address your concerns.

As someone who is recovering from multiple eating disorders, a lot of what you said sounds familiar to everything that went through my mind during my eating disorders.

I think the fact that the idea of you possibly having an eating disorder is on your mind is a good indication that you may be in the beginning stages of an eating disorder--when the obsession of food intake and exercise outtake manifest. Once food, calories, exercise, etc. start to be on your mind constantly, it is a red flag that an eating disorder might be brewing. While 1500 calories a day is a sufficient and relatively normal amount for the average person, your feelings of guilt after/before eating concern me because eating disorders revolve and function on feelings of guilt and obsession.