It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eating Disorder Recovery Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2012, 07:50 PM   #1
(female)

Betty228 HB User
abusing laxatives for about 10 years

Hello! I have been using laxatives for about 10 years and now I don't know how to get off them. I really want to be a normal person again. I want to have a normal life and sleep all night long without getting up to go to the bathroom. I'm afraid that if I stop using them I will never go to the bathroom again, or that I will be constipated. I hate laxatives and want to get off them so bad, I just don't know how to start or what to do. I know I will get bloated and I'm afraid of that, I don't want to feel bloated for a whole month or more. I also would like to know what I need to eat, and I guess I need to learn how to structure eating again...

Also, I want to have babies within a year or so, I want to be strong and healthy and never ever ever use laxatives again. I am 31 now, I feel like I've wasted so many years of my life with those horrible pills. (I used the bisacodyl, like dulcolax and ex lax stimulant laxatives).

Please I need help, any advise will be greatly appreciated!

Old 02-15-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
(female)

aileb HB Useraileb HB Useraileb HB Useraileb HB User
Re: Help laxative abuse recovery!!!

I want to say congrats for making the decision to quit laxatives! I also use to abuse them for years and I never wanted to quit them for the same reason.

When you quit them, you are going to feel uncomfortable and experience bloating for a while. There is no way avoid it. BUT, it really helps if you keep reminding yourself that it's only temporary ( a couple of months).

You have two choices:
A) feel uncomfortable for a couple of months, recover and never have to pray that you won't pass out.