HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Eating Disorder Recovery (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/eating-disorder-recovery/)
-   -   Help, Chew and Spit while studying (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/eating-disorder-recovery/926011-help-chew-spit-while-studying.html)

leegaya 11-03-2012 08:57 PM

Help, Chew and Spit while studying

Hi. I am in crisis mode right now, freaking out. All advice is appreciated.
Here is the main point:
DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY ADVICE ON HOW TO:
-stop chew and spit
-BREAK THE HABIT OF EATING/CHEWING WHILE STUDYING

I have always had a bad habit of eating while studying. It seems to be the ONLY thing that helps me focus. I've been doing it in one form or another for about four years now, and I desperately need to stop. Here's why:

I have struggled with eating disorders since I was about 16, at which point I was about 5-10 lbs. overweight. At first I tried dieting, which didnt really work, and then bingeing and purgeing, which is when the "bingeing" part really started.(and also as a result of dieting). I was only able to overcome bulimia when I developed enough "discipline" to not overeat, but this quickly led to anorexia. That period lasted about six months until I was hospitalized. Since then, I have been going through "recovery". But its not quite that simple...