It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2005, 04:49 PM   #1
(male)

takiteasy HB User
Question Triggers

Hi guys,

I'm new to this being epileptic caper and was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers on how you discover what sets a fit off?

I've kinda got a theory that it might be repetitive noises that set me off.

Gordee

Last edited by takiteasy; 02-23-2005 at 04:49 PM.

Old 02-23-2005, 08:50 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Travis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB User
Re: Triggers

Loud (suprising) noises I have heard of for triggers.

Different frequencies of light (colors) for different people.
-----Flashing lights is a commong trigger; even if it is light passing through trees when moving.

Hot or cold temps (usually sudden change is what does it)

equilibrium

rapid pressure changes (in/Hg ft/H2O)

caffine is a biggie

stress

Hope that helps for a short list of some of the triggers

--Travis

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-24-2005, 07:52 AM   #3

buliem HB User

I'd have to add sleep deprivation or even an irregular sleep pattern. My son can have a seizure if he goes to bed even a hour or two later than usual. Most of the time his seizures happen on the weekend because we tend to be more lax about bedtime. They usually happen a couple of days after he misses the sleep. Really weird.

Emotional upset can also set him off as can too much excitement. I guess that all falls under stress. It's rough because you still need to discipline a 10 year old but that can upset him. I'm having a hard time knowing how far I can go with reprimands.

Old 02-24-2005, 09:50 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

kayakmom HB User

Stress

missing meds or taking them haphazardly

Lack of sleep

poor diet

Taking over the counter meds that interfere (cough and cold meds for one)

Flickering lights for some