It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2005, 02:10 PM   #1
(female)

prattc HB User
VNS Machines

Wondering what people are thinking if these,, I am new to this.. Here is my story, I have a 19 year old son who started having seizures early last year after having an AVM removed..
He has gone the whole medication route,,
He is currently taking 500mg Depakote and 500 Mg of Keppera 3 pills / 3 times a day and still having break through seizures.. I am worried about the damage to his liver, if he keeps up with this dosage of medication,, I have read about the machine, but I am not sure what to do,, He is 19 years old, he can no longer drive and is having a very hard time downing this medication everyday,,
Does anyone know if these machines work and are you able to drive??

Old 02-24-2005, 04:32 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

kayakmom HB User
Re: VNS Machines

VNS works well for some, but sadly there is no guarantee until you try it you do not know if it will help your son. SOme neuros insist on ruling out surgery candidacy before trying VNS, too...

For 1/3 of patients it reduces seizures or may control them all, they may or may not be able to go down on meds.
1/3 of patients may not have fewer seizures but post ictal time may be reduced and seizures may be shorter. meds stay the same.
1/3 of patients it is not help and may actually increase siezures...

I know it is tough to play the med game. It is good to get a second opinion. Some neuros are better at finding control...hang in there!!Hope you find answers for him!!
I have two teens with e, one almost 14 one almost 16

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-25-2005, 08:43 AM   #3
Inactive

curse HB User