It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2005, 06:00 PM   #1
(female)

lilac_lilly HB User
Question Vagal nerve stimulation

Hi! I am new to this so please be patient. i have grandmaw seizures and i have had them for 10 years now. They have progressively gotten worse until i am now having 3 to 4 a week. I am going to have a surgery to have a Vagal Nerve Stemulator put in to try to control or cut back on the seizures, does anyone have one in or know anything good about this device.Please let me know some good news. thank you.

Old 04-09-2005, 04:43 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Travis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB User
Re: Vagus nerve stimulation

They are willing to implament the VNS for 3-4 seizures per week? I'm suprised. Very suprised.

I know 3 patients with it, one had the very early model, first gen; the others had the second version. The first recently had it replaced due to battery drainage and now has the newer model (102?).

They install a lead (wire contact) up to your neck on the vagus (sp?) nerve. Now they have it so only the contact will remain and they can remove the wire (if needed later on) if I recall the new procedure. Anyway, it's a pretty simple procedure.

It's a small device, I think about 2x2x1/4 now for the 102. After the procedure it remains OFF for a couple of months to let the body heal over the contact on the nerve and adapt to the foreign object being in the chest. Once activated they will SLOWLY and I do mean SLOWLY adjust it to a setting that will end up working for you. This could take 6 months to one year trying to get the setting correct. YOU REMAIN ON YOUR MEDICATIONS. They may be reduced slightly at most.