It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2002, 07:57 PM   #1

natasiatarot HB User
Cool my daughter switching from dilantin to topamax, need help

my daughter is 17 and has seizures since age 5, not many, not daily, but enough for constant meds and worry. she has been on dilantin because she is allergic to tegretol. she is having complex partial seizures for the past 6 months, since a grand mal in january. the doc is switching to topamax and it sounds like a good thing, but i would like input. does anyone else take it? how is it working for you? and i would also like info on complex partial seizures. i am new to this web site, but have read alot of the postings and it is nice to know that there are others out there with this awful thing called "epilepsy". i will be glad to hear from anyone out there that can help us. she is very upset and i am worried

Old 05-12-2002, 01:58 PM   #2

Piano HB User
Hi, I had terrible reactions to Topamax, but then again, I've heard some people call it a "miracle drug." My most bothersome side effects were numb and tingling hands (painful), vomiting 5+ times a day, headaches, b*tchiness, and confusion. There were others, but those were the worst. Some people I've talked to never had issues with it, tho. Good luck and keep us posted.

Piano

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-12-2002, 03:14 PM   #3

natasiatarot HB User
thank you for replying. i am hoping that she does well, she has been on it for 3 days now, weaning off the dilantin, and the headaches are lessening and so far, knock on wood, no complex partials today. she is still very tired, is resting now. so far so good. thanks again for the reply. nice to know there are others out there

Old 05-13-2002, 03:09 PM   #4

rsorrentini HB User