It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2002, 03:32 AM   #1

pejohnson HB User
Unhappy WHY ME!!??

I graduated Coast Guard bootcamp in August of 2000. Nine months later I had my first grand mal seizure. I felt as if I was doing something good with my life and then this all happens.
After my first seizure I was taken of my ship for four months and was not put on medication. For those four months I was seizure free and still happy about being in the CG. I was put back on my ship in August of 2001 and had another seizure. Go figure! Now my opinion on staying in the CG has changed significantly. I'm extremely limited on what duties I can perform with my job which in all reality means I'm not able to do anything while I'm on medical hold. This has cause my self worth to be shot out the window. I'm limited on where I can live because I'm restricted from driving. This has cause me a great deal of unhappyness and I feel that if I get out I will at least be content with my life. Second I'm not even allowed to advance until I'm fit for full duty. I'm hoping to get answers from someone on the outside.
My medical officer wants me to see a psychiatrist because he feels that I'm in a great state of depression. All I told him was that I was unhappy with my current situation in life and work.
My biggest concern is that my medication also cause me to sleep constantly. Even when I wake up I still feel tired and lethargic. I don't know how I'm going to work a normal work day for the CG if I have to continue my medication. Unfortunatly I don't think it would be a good decision to take me off of the medication only after a year of being seizure free. i could end up having a break through seizure and if I'm on ship when it happens it could be fatel or even deadly.