It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2002, 08:24 AM   #1

Mom2Joy HB User
Question Scream With Seizure

This is my first time to post a message and I'm hoping someone can provide me with some insight. I thank you, in advance, for any information you can offer.

My 17 yr old daughter started having grand mal seizures when she was 14. They occur within the first 10 minutes of waking. Seizure frequency has been 3-4 a year. She is not on medication. She manages her condition with an herbal regimen and a strict sleep schedule. She is monitored periodically by her doctor who is in agreement with the approach we are taking.

She had a seizure today and something happened that has never happened before. At the onset of her seizure she screamed. Has anyone heard of that before?

Normally when she has a seizure, she just freezes before collapsing to the floor and convulsions beginning. This scream was not just a moan nor was it the groaning sound commonly heard during a seizure. This scream was load enough to be heard 2 rooms away in the house.

My concern is that this has never happened before and it makes me wonder if she was experiencing some type of pain previously not experienced or if she simply lost control of her voice and it was an outburst of some type.

When her convulsions stopped, she behaved as she always does so nothing seemed unusual there. She is still sleeping it off right now so I haven't had a chance to talk with her to see if she remembers anything. Normally she doesn't notice and/or remember anything just prior to the seizure and will typically have no recall of having had one. Unlike some people who get a sensation near the onset of a seizure, she has never seemed to experience that. This scream, however, has me disturbed.