It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2002, 04:06 PM   #1

peache HB User
Question Paritcal Comples Seizures

Hello everyone~
I'm new to this but I have a few questions so if anyone has any advice that would be great. 2 years ago I was diagnosed with partical complex seizures. I had many tests done. I had a CAT scan done an eeg, and an ekg. All of the tests came back normal but my neurologist said that happens often. Well I was told by another doctor that I could be suffering from anxiety disorder and not seizures. Since many of the smyptoms are the same for seizures and anxiety I often wonder myself. I don't know what's wrong with me and I was taking tegretol and now I'm taking carbatrol. Has anyone ever delt with anything like this or know someone that has? I'm all out of places to go. Thanks.

Old 10-22-2002, 06:54 PM   #2

YogaMom HB User
Hi Peache,

I am new here too and from the Cleveland area also! I just read a book on temporal lobe epilepsy and it says that often anxiety attacks can be epileptic seizures in those with TLE. Apparently, TLE and emotional disorders like depression and panic attacks, etc. can be closely related and some docs think that those disorders can be caused by brain scars in the temporal lobe. The book is called "Seized" by Eve LaPlante. It's very good. Do you know where your seizures originate?

If you didn't know, there is an adult epilepsy center at the Cleveland Clinic downtown. My doc is there. I have heard that an MRI is much better for detecting brain abnormalities such as those which cause seizures. Do the meds. control your seizures or the attacks?

Hope that helps!
Susan

[This message has been edited by YogaMom (edited 10-22-2002).]

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-22-2002, 08:15 PM   #3

peache HB User