It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2002, 01:01 PM   #1

Mickaela HB User
Unhappy Psychomotor temporal lobe seizures

Hello everyone! I am new to this, Ive searched the internet for many weeks now for information on the type of seizures I have which are accompanied by automatisms (which used to terrify me). When I used to have an "aura" (I think thats what they are called) I used to do unexplained things and act like an 8-year-old. Im only 17 and developed my epilepsy a couple of months before my 15th birthday. I dont know anything about it and I havent met anyone with anything similar. It would be great to talk to someone who knows what I have been through. Fortunately for me I have been fit free for 10 months but there isnt a day that goes by when I dont wake up an worry about whether I will have a fit. I have no warning signs and have no recognition of what has happen the only way I know is from people telling me. From what people have told me (people that i love and trust dearl) I didnt very scary things, I would try and jump out of windows and pick red hot coal out of the fire, as well as think i was cartoon characters and think I could fly like pocahontus. Can anyone explain why these happen? There was no reason for my epilepsy starting, I used to have headaches all the time, which turned into fainting. Then eventually i wuld have an aura (that could last up to over 2 hours) and then fall to the floor and shake. I take 200mg of carbamazepine a day which is obvioulsy working. As I turned 17 a few weeks back I would like to learn to drive as soon as i can, does anybody know the regulations? If Anybody can help me I would be entirely grateful. Thanks kayla xx

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-01-2002, 01:19 PM   #2

lazoo HB User