It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2003, 08:25 AM   #1

kipp77 HB User
Post Introduction - Case History

Hello everyone! I discovered this board while trying to obtain some research data on Phenytoin (more on that in a later post). I am relatively new to message boards but it sure sounds like a great idea that i could converse with people who know and understand what its like to live with epilepsy.

I am a 45 year old male who was first diagnosed with a 'seizure disorder' when I was nine. I took phenobarbital as a youth, then switched to dilantin, which I have been taking for the past 20+ years.

I have what I refer to as auras (partials) which may or may not evolve into a grand mal seizure. In some ways, this gives me the advantage of warning me in advance. I am fully aware during the aura and it usually lasts for about one minute before it either goes away or I go belly up. Too often, I convince myself that it will not evolve and I get myself into trouble.

The one other big advantage of the advance warning (aura) that I receive is that it gives me time to hide. I think some of you may understand what I mean here. Not only are the grand mal seizures embarrassing, I've even once been taken to a hospital and had my stomach pumped! Young kid, long hair, totally wacked out...must be an overdose.

Over the past two years, my seizures have gottn worse and I have been involved in a few bad accidents. As such, I went to a new neuro and am now also taking zonegran (400 mg). That, along with the dilantin (400) seems to have helped a lot.

Ramble, ramble. I look forward to conversing with you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-20-2003, 07:46 AM   #2

lazoo HB User
Hi - Just wanted to welcome you. What are your auras like? lazoo

Old 01-21-2003, 06:39 AM   #3

kipp77 HB User
Hello Lazoo,