It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2003, 01:09 PM   #1

DavidTex HB User
Post Seizures in the morning in children

I made a posting that describes my sons seizures and yesterday under Childhood Epilepsy Questions. I am new to the world of epilepsy and seizures and looking for some guidance. Most of my sons seizures occur during the early morning hours, usually just before he wakes up in the morning. On the days when he has had multiple seizures, it will normally happen near the end of sleeping after the initial seizure. I am wondering if there are other children out there that have the same sort of seizures. What have you been told that can be causing these seizures and what meds have you been using that seem to work?
I am doing everything I can to read about these types of seizures, and I am looking for those that are currently experiencing those seizures. It makes it very difficult to sleep at night knowing that at any time he might have a seizure.
I look forward to any and all responses.
David

Old 08-28-2003, 02:22 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

kayakmom HB User
HI and Welcome, Yes, my son has seizures mostly early in the morning hours, sometimes convulsive sometimes not. He has been on Dilantin, Dilantin XR, Tegretol(allergic), Depakote and Zonegran. FOr him Zonegran at low doses did the best to lower the seizures and had less impact on learning. Nothing has kept him seizure free. He is currently in a weird place, off meds for a year, still seizing. We are still searching for answers to help him.
John Freeman has a great book, Guide to Childhood Epilepsies that is a good start.
Hope you find quick control for your son. Is he seeing a Pediatric Neuro> that is important.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-29-2003, 06:48 AM   #3

DavidTex HB User