It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2007, 10:40 AM   #1
(female)

riddlesperger HB User
Question Question about Keppra and other medications

Hi everyone I am new to this message board. I am seeking some information about Keppra and other medications. Is anyone on Keppra? If so how does it affect you? I am on Tegretol right now and I am having problems with a very dry mouth and bruises all over. Sometimes as many as 40 or more. I talked to my doctor about switching medications and he suggested this one. He said it did not have many side effects but that is not what I read on their website about it. I wanted to get some input from some people who were taking it. I took Phenobarbital for years and those years of my life are a blur to me, it was hard for me to wake up an I was sleepy all the time. I do not want to go through this again so, does Keppra make you sleepy? Any other side effects? What about other medications? Does anyone take one that does not have side effects for them? I do not want to be a zombie in my own life again.
Thanks,
Carla

Old 08-16-2007, 12:13 PM   #2
(female)

TopamaxKillsMe HB User
Re: Question about Keppra and other medications

Hi Karla,

I feel your pain. I have been on Topamax for two years and am currently weaning. I was looking for the right med after my terrible experience on Topamax. Zombie/like is sorta like what TM made me feel like, that and really dumbed down also suffered eye pain, insomnia, chronic headaches among other things but this thread isn't' about topamax but it's why I chose Keppra.