It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2007, 08:17 PM   #1
(male)

Auxier07 HB User
Question Advice needed on temporal lobe surgery

This is my first time on here. To begin with I had a concussion when I was 19 months old and shortly afterwards, I started having seizures. I'm not sure what type they were. I never had another seizure until I was in 6th grade. My grandfather said he had them when he was young but it could never be proven mine are inherited from him. I am 33 and still having seizures and am taking max amounts of Lyrica, Carbatrol, and Topamax, 14 pills a day. I saw a neurosurgeon this month and he is suggesting I have the left temporal lobe lobectomy and giving me a 70% chance it will cure the seizures. Also, my neurologist is suggesting me having the surgery. They said I am a good candidate for it. I have had all the tests done, Wada, monitoring, etc. They said there is a small scar tissue on the left lobe and believe the seizures are coming from this area. I have some memory on my left but the majority of my memory is on the right. They also believe the scar tissue happened from prolonged seizures over time. I would appreciate anybody's input on the surgery or anyone who has mesial sclerosis like I do. I have alot of questions I'd like to ask to anyone who has gone through with it or who has mesial sclerosis. Thank you

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-31-2007, 09:46 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

neurowreck HB User
Re: Advice needed on temporal lobe surgery

Mesiotemporal sclerosis is often caused by childhood febrile seizures... and is a common reason for epilepsy surgery since the area can be seen and removed. Many people report vast improvement in their seizures.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-01-2007, 01:37 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)