It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2007, 06:38 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

j2006 HB User
Topamax Question

Is it Alright to have a glass of wine when taking Topamax? I don't drink but ocassionally have a glass of wine with dinner when out. My doctor said it won't harm me but just wondering if it effects you differently - ie: tired or tipsy faster?

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-21-2007, 06:45 AM   #2
(female)

tatie HB User
Re: Topamax Question

Hello,

I was on topamax forover 12 months, I did have alcohol in small doses, normally on special occasions and one of my friends, he has been on it for a long time.....I am not a doctor I will share from my experince and my friends, If i drank as I would only have one or two found sometimes there would be no difference with no side effects at all, sometimes i would notice it effected me quiet quickly which I found from experience was just a combination of food wen meds were taken ect..... I too did ask as I always do... I was told as long as i didnt drink in excess or have a it two nights in a row if in larger quantites and make sure to sleep.....
my friend he used to drink in larger doses and never had any major side effects more like me was affected by alchol much easier then his friends and made sure to take meds at right time and sleep...
hope that helps

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-22-2007, 05:51 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

neurowreck HB User

I was so out of it on Topamax (didn't work for me, and am no longer taking it because of the sedation) that I wouldn't add alcohol, even in small doses (I don't drink anyway, but understand the social glass of wine/cocktail). I'm too leary of the combination of medications and alcohol.

Old 10-25-2007, 11:52 AM   #4
(female)

TopamaxKillsMe HB User