It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2008, 02:22 PM   #1
(male)

damiene HB User
2nd Time but still as Nervous as hell

Hi Guys

I'm new to this so please don't take anything I say personally. My girlfriend had her 2nd fit 2day. It hasn't been confirmed but doctors do believe it is Epilepsy (we await sleep EEG for confirmation). My problem is I've never been in this situation before and I'm not sure I have enough strength to look out for her when she has her seizures and fights paramedics and police for anything from 1hr - 2hrs and look after our 2 & 1/2 yr old boy.

Not to get personal but does anyone else have a seizure then starts fighting and not recognising everyone around them?

Also what advise can you give a new comer to this whole situation of life which is hard enough just having 2yr old kids with temper tantrums?

Many thanks for your understanding

Damien

Old 06-14-2008, 03:52 PM   #2
(female)

penny96 HB User
Re: 2nd Time but still as Nervous as hell

Hi Damien, yes after a seizure it can be VERY confusing and hard to recognize who people are or where you are. Seizures come in many forms, but most end in confusion. If your girlfriend is fighting it can be part of the seizure itself or from the confusion after the seizure. Try being understanding, most epileptics can recover from a seizure within the hour, but some can last as long as a day and there usually a need to rest. For the most part I'm sure that your girlfriend is a nice person, don't judge her from her seizures.

Ps. Seizures shouldn't be called "fits" this makes them sound like toddlers having a temper tantrum.

Penny

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-14-2008, 04:41 PM   #3
(male)

Mediocrates HB User