It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2008, 08:31 AM   #1
(female)

pikedb HB User
need advice on depakote

hello all...i am new to board but need some advice from those in the know. my six year old has been on zarontin for absence seizures since she was three. My sis had epilepsy when we we young so I knew what to see and encourage pediatrician to test her. since going on zarontin i have never/rarely witnessed anything I could adamently say was another seizure. however her bi annual eeg's have indicated 1 second and 10 second spikes. the neurologist is always quite dubious when i say that i haven't seen seizures. st any rate, dr now wants to incorporate depakote into the the drug therapy out of concern for my childs education foundation as she is now entering 1st grade (right now my child is ahead of the curve intellectually). While I understand where dr is coming from I am resistant to more druf therapy when I do not see any siezure indications. Addmittedly, my sister had a very hard time in school partially due to having enough phenobarbital in her to "put down a horse" as one doc opne phrased it. So you can see I have a bit of a prejudice against over medication and see no reason why, if there are no visable seizures and the child is intellectually ahead of the curve, to drug her further.

any thoughts? i have asked a friend who is bi-poler about depakote and she said she would never put her child on depakote willingly.

Old 08-17-2008, 04:48 PM   #2
(male)

jvmtaz HB User
Re: need advice on depakote

Based upon my personal experience with drug therapy, I would avoid additional drugs, unless it is absolutely needed to control seizures.