It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2008, 01:32 AM   #1
(female)

brainstorming88 HB User
topamax and weight loss

hello everyone
i'm kinda new to epilepsy (was just diagnosed 8 months ago and its been a loooooong 8 months) the most recent AED i'm on now is topamax which seems to be great for my seizures havent had one since i've started using it (little over 2 months) BUT my problem is weight loss i've dropped 15lbs in just one month and still dropping.. i was already petite so now with the weight loss i look sick. my doctor doesnt seem to wanna take me off the topamax and i've seen two other doctors each one seems to wanna diagnose me with something else one of them even started taking me off the meds and i ended up in the hospital coz i had 4 seizures right after eachother.. so i dont think i wanna look for too many opinions i'll stick with the doctor who knows exactly whats wrong with me. is there anything that i can take or do to help with the weight loss?? i'm 5'4" and i weigh 98lbs now.. i wanna switch meds but i just worry about the side effects i dont even wanna TRY any other meds. i've already tried lamictal which was so horrible it took me almost a month to recover from it..

Old 09-07-2008, 10:25 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Travis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB User
Re: topamax and weight loss

Forget the standard eating 3 meals a day is my first advice. It didn't work for me when I started up, and still doesn't.

You may start to notice some thing taste different (soda's, candy bars). So watch out on those. Diet soda's are are a BIG complaint.

I found out that AROMA triggered appetite. Mainly the smell of seafood (in my case it was shrimp).