It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2008, 10:43 AM   #1
(male)

phuenink HB User
Thinking of Switching medication. Help!

I'm new to the message boards, and I'm looking for some advice.

I've been taking Carbamazapine for about 17 years, and the side effects (drowsiness, poor vision, dry mouth, and dizziness) are too much for me. My doctor gave me a list of drugs to look up. Does anyone have experience-- good or bad-- with these drugs?
-Valproic Acid (Depacon; Depakene; Depakote ER;
-Phenytoin (Dilantin; Phenytek)
-Levetiracetam (Keppra)
-Lamotrigine (Lamictal)

Thank you

Old 10-27-2008, 01:05 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Travis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB User
Re: Thinking of Switching medication. Help!

Hmm.. As somebody who has been on Teg (carbamazepine) since the start the symptoms you listed reminds me when they had me on too high of a dose; but thats just from a patient's perspective.

I've been on ALL of the others you mentioned and then some.

Keppra I'm still on, it has produced the least side effects of the bunch. A person has to watch out for emotional outbursts (nicknamed keppRAGE) as a indication of incompatibility. Top dose they like to go up to is 3000mg/day

Depakote likes to cause hair thinning and weight gain when ON the medication. It comes off when you are taken off the medication. Pills go down easy thats a plus. It was so-so for me when I was on Dilantin and Teg at the same time (made me sleep 12 hrs and tired all day on that 3 med blend). That was due to medication interactions, not Depakote itself. Never on it as a one drug therapy.