It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Epilepsy Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2010, 05:28 AM   #1
(female)

sarahfhug HB User
Grand mal - driving?

I have recently had one grand mal epilepsy attack, hopefully will not have anymore, also suffered from temporal lobe epilepsy in the past but not been on medication for several years. I am a long term driver and wish to continue, does anyone know if i am able to do so and/or if there are any steps i should be taking? Thanks

Old 04-12-2010, 06:05 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User92261 HB User
Re: Grand mal - driving?

Sarah: are your seizures controlled by meds? If they're not, then I'd be careful because you don't want to end up like me and have an accident and then lose your license. Talk to your doctor about it. He should know whether or not it's safe for you to drive. I can't get my license back until I'm 6 mo. seizure free. I haven't been 5 years seizure free!!!!!!!!!!!! Meds don't work!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-12-2010, 07:07 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Travis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB UserTravis from MN HB User

Check the resources on the Web. States have different standards in how they regulate drivers whom have "loss of consciousness" and even how they define "seizures". I have yet to see a state that gives "passes" to licensed drivers who have seizures. I have noted that some give diabetics waivers if there has been a recent "change in therapy".

A portion of the states even REQUIRE doctors to report (to the state) if a patient has had a seizure. Thankfully the majority do not allow for that.

Do some research online and see what your states laws are.

--Travis

Old 04-12-2010, 08:06 AM   #4
(female)

heyloe HB Userheyloe HB Userheyloe HB User