It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2004, 08:27 PM   #1

Alias HB User
The Board Press

As some of you know I am 17 years old and benchs 160, well I got a question along with some good news. I recently heard some lifters at my gym saying they bounce the weight off their chest to lift heavy weights. I tried it and it hurt, really bad. I then was reading Physical Mag and I heard about the board lift. Where you bounce the weight off a board placed on your chest. Well I tried this and it works. It is a 3/4 inch board. I then tried it with one 60 and got it up, it was pretty easy. I then lift 170 pounds, finally! I was wondering if the board takes away any of the stress placed on the muscles to help them grow. Thanks

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-21-2004, 12:01 AM   #2

never2L8 HB User
Re: The Board Press

I am no expert but I suspect it is using momentum to help with the lift. This would be similar to 'bouncing back' from the bottom of a bicep curl instead of coming to a momentary stop between lowering and raising the weights. I though that this would breach 'correct form' for lifting weights but it just may belong to the same area as partial reps, which can assist in overall development. I still suspect it may be dangerous once the weight start getting higher.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-21-2004, 01:45 AM   #3

Chasedog HB User

Bouncing the weight may help you get a few extra pounds because the conserved energy is helping you lift the weight through the hardest portion of the lift, the bottom. The board simply distributes the energy over a greater area so it isn't painful. I don't reccommend it.

Old 04-21-2004, 03:11 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(male)

Endorphin Junky HB User