It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2004, 03:49 PM   #1

asdfgh HB User
New to Dumbbells, a bit of help

Hi im new to working out, I am going to start buying dumbbells, I am 15... for strenght training what amount of weights should I get, right now I can do 15 pounds, but I tried 30 pounds once and it was VERY VERY hard...soo what amounts should I get, eg. 15, 20, 25, 30, and 35 .... for now ? and I've been reading some of the routines of some people and I don't understand what they are like Lat Pull ups, pull downs and all these "phrases" I do not understand and I don't know what they look like etc... is there a site with like picture and all these technicalities...thank you

Old 05-03-2004, 10:46 AM   #2

Calikermie HB User
Re: New to Dumbbells, a bit of help

I would get weights around 20 pounds if you say you can do 15. BUT, are you doing them right? I am 23 and am average strength, and I usually use around 10 pounds. If I wanted to, I could use heavier, but if you really are doing the excersize right,then you don't need really heavy ones. Make sure you are doing the move slowly, and really concentrating on flexing that muscle tightly. Get full range of motion and do about 15 reps or so. If you really do it right then you'll definately feel it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-03-2004, 11:55 AM   #3

Used2BScooterTX HB User

For an explanation of different dumbell exercises and execution, check out the ExRx website (http://www.exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html). I reference this website all the time-- it's a good resource.

Old 05-03-2004, 08:39 PM   #4
Inactive

Laurie2 HB User