It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2004, 09:43 PM   #1

steeletugboat HB User
Question built, but still fat

hey, I have been working out now for about three months...almost straight. i do a lot of wieght lifting. Curls, benching, thrusts, squats, push-ups, walking, sit-ups, and even jump roping. i have been doing this for three months, six days a week. However, i can not lose the "ring of fat". you know, the gut and the love handles. i was wondering if there is anything i can do.....@home. I am kinda broke, so i can't afford a gym subscription, or a home gym. all i have are my dumbells, barbells, a jump rope, and my own two feet. I walk about 4.5 miles a day, sometimes nine. and i am a very active guy. please, if anyone out there knows a way to help, please help. thank you

Old 05-07-2004, 01:34 AM   #2
Inactive

Laurie2 HB User
Re: built, but still fat

What have you done about your diet?

Since you started, what has your wardrobe been like? Looser, the same or ? You cannot go by the scales in the beginning. Too many factors cause daily fluctuations ....so your clothes are a better indicator of change at first as your body "shifts" around. Losing that "tire" is going to take time, patience. You will have to stay determined and stay motivated. The first place the body stores the fat, will be the last place to go. But the body takes fat from all over....not just one place. Why there is no such thing as "spot reducing."

What you are wanting to do is lose bodyfat. Losing weight is a misnomer really. You can stay the same "weight" but lost some bodyfat/waterweight and exchange it for muscle. Muscle is denser than bodyfat but smaller in size. A tangerine size portion of lean muscle weighs about the same as two grapefruit size portions of bodyfat.