It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2005, 05:48 AM   #1

lunachick03 HB User
running too much??

I've been running for about 3 years now. I average around 6 miles a day 4-5 days a week. I'm a bit concerned because I noticed lately that when I'm not running, I'm unable to relax. It's almost like my body wants to keep going. Also, I had my body fat measured last week and it's at 10%...is this too low?? I've never used weights before but I'm thinking about incorporating some sort of resistance training into my work out. I think running has burned away most of my muscle. Is it possible that I'm producing too much cortisol? My goal is to stay lean and have some muscle tone without looking bulky. What would you recommend?? Should I cut back on running and use more weights?? Do both at the same time?? Thanks in advance guys!!

Old 03-25-2005, 06:20 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

ChappyBoy HB User
Re: running too much??

I have seen this before. There was this guy Forest Gump who always felt like running ....

Ok. - Yes, that much running can burn lean mass off your body. here is the good news 10% is great and healthy, you can limit the amount of mass lost with proper diet and your goal is to not add too much lean mass. I would add some weight resistance training, probably starting at 3 days per week. As far as diet I would just make sure you are getting quality protein 6-7 times a day at about ( you need about 1G per pound/ divide that by the six or seven meals)

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-25-2005, 08:58 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Hitmen HB User

A body fat percentage of 10% is not too low. A lot of people would kill to have a BF% of 10%.

Old 03-25-2005, 09:04 AM   #4

G2004 HB User