It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2005, 10:37 AM   #1
Inactive
(female)

lietchi HB User
different treatment for women?

I've been doing weights for a few months now, and I really want to learn how to do the "male" stuff: bench press, squats, etc. I also want to use heavier weights on the machines. But as a woman, I often get reactions like "do light weights, high reps, otherwise you'll build too much muscle" (and then they do an imitation of Arnold Schwarzenegger). And when I ask a fitness instructor to teach me bench presses his eyes nearly fall out of their sockets.
It irritates me so much! As if muscle grows that quickly, especially with women... And what's wrong with a bit of muscle anyway...

What do you guys think? Do you agree with the opinion that women should do light weights, and only machines, no loose weights? Why? Or can they more or less do the same things men do?

Old 03-25-2005, 11:30 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

BostonGirl44 HB User
Re: different treatment for women?

My trainer has me using heavier and heavier weights each time I go to see her. I'm starting to tone up really nicely and I'm not looking anything like a man. I do bench presses, squats, and other things that I see guys doing. If I were you, I'd talk to some other trainer who's willing to help you and not make you feel like you're doing something wrong.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-25-2005, 12:06 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

ASDGRMama HB User

I think it depends on your muscular structure. I happen to have short muscles and bulk up very fast (thick neck, beefy shoulders etc...) with heavy lifting. My SIL however has long muscles and stays thin and lean. High reps with light weights allow for an over-all toning rather than ripple-y muscles.