It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2005, 08:32 PM   #1
(female)

croppingmom HB User
Question stregthening my lower back

I have a bad lower back..well actually I knock my pelvis out of alignment easily. This can be done from simply walking. I was told to stregnthen my lower back any sugestions on how to do this. I am going to contact a physical therapist this week but thought I would check here first.

Old 03-28-2005, 07:33 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Ding HB User
Re: stregthening my lower back

i know of few excercises that my aerobics teacher taught me, i'm no expert but here you are.

lie on your front, flat on a mat. then put your hands underneath your chin with your elbows out wide. then you lift your shoulders and upper body slightly off the ground, using your lower back muscles. then return to the starting position and repeat. the movement should only be very small, and you shouldn't jerk it. there are a few variations on this move that you can do, with your hands behind you resting in the curve of your back whilst you lift up, instead of under your chin.
as i said, i'm no back expert, and i dont know how suitable these moves will be for you, as you said you have a weak pelvis etc. maybe give them a go though, as they can help strengthen the area.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-28-2005, 08:21 AM   #3
(male)

Nixona HB User
Re: stregthening my lower back