It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2005, 08:07 PM   #1
(female)

Steph@nie HB User
Talking Marathon Training Advice Please

I decided I want to buckle down and train for a marathon, I have been running off and on for a few years - it's not til January (42 weeks away now), so I have a while. I have done a lot of research, read books, got the gear I need to start (running shoes, heart rate monitor), I started a training program last week. I am doing a half marathom training first and I will move up, so I don't get injured. I get shin splits really bad, especially right above the inside of my ankles (how do I get rid of that?) I plan to run a few 5k and 10k races in the next few months and a half marathon in July or August to prepare for the whole scene.

I just want to know if anyone has run a marathon, experiences, tips, advice. I don't know anyone who has run one. Some of my work buddies are training for it as well, but we're not training together and none of them have done one before either. Any help would be greatly appriciated!!!

Last edited by Steph@nie; 03-28-2005 at 08:15 PM. Reason: Adding

Old 03-28-2005, 11:05 PM   #2
(female)

~Summer~ HB User
Re: Marathon Training Advice