It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2005, 06:55 AM   #1
(male)

Drag64SS HB User
Eating before workout... NAXIS?

I am very new to working out...and exercising in general.... I have lost 20 lbs since Jan, just by changing my eating habits and just joined the gym. OK... the PT at the gym told me I definitely should eat before working out so my blood sugar doesn't get too low. I have read on here that not eating before working out will help burn fat. I know I should listen to the PT, but I've read so many conflicting opinions to that on here.... I'd like to hear more.

Old 04-05-2005, 07:36 AM   #2
(female)

alotamiles HB User
Re: Eating before workout... NAXIS?

Listen to your PT. We don't run our cars on empty, so why would we not fuel our bodies before a workout? Fat is the body's LEAST preferred form of energy. You'd have to run a marathon just to reach your fat reserves. So unless you plan on being on the treadmill or elliptical for about 5 hours, burn your more readily available forms of energy such as carbohydrates.

Good luck and congrats on joining a gym!
- Alotamiles

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-05-2005, 08:04 AM   #3
Senior Veteran

DonutsNCoffee HB User