It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2005, 07:39 PM   #1
(male)

rohr4u HB User
Niaspan side effects

I've been taking Niaspan for six months and am experiencing severe calf muscle cramps when I exercise at the gym and frequently in the middle of night time sleep. I have been working out for 30 years, drink enough fluids and supplements, and do the usual warm up and stretching. The only new thing in my life is the Niaspan. Has anyone had a similar problem with Niaspan.

Last edited by rohr4u; 10-20-2005 at 07:53 PM. Reason: It should not be posted on the exercise thread. The question is about medication for cholesterol.

Old 10-21-2005, 07:53 AM   #2
Inactive

Moxie75 HB User
Re: Niaspan side effects

Quote:
Originally Posted by rohr4u
I've been taking Niaspan for six months and am experiencing severe calf muscle cramps when I exercise at the gym and frequently in the middle of night time sleep. I have been working out for 30 years, drink enough fluids and supplements, and do the usual warm up and stretching. The only new thing in my life is the Niaspan. Has anyone had a similar problem with Niaspan.
I have found that most of the cholesterol lowering meds all have this effect. Side effects for Niaspan are :
Abdominal pain, chills, diarrhea, dizziness, fainting, flushing, headache, indigestion, itching, nasal inflammation, nausea, pain, rapid heartbeat, rash, shortness of breath, sweating, swelling due to fluid retention, vomiting.