It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2007, 12:39 PM   #1
(female)

Karla K HB User
Exclamation Dizzy & Nauseous while weight lifting! Any suggestions??

I am a very active and fit person (lots of cardio) and I have recently began working out with a trainer for 60 min. once per week for weight/strength training. Every workout with her I get extremely nauseous and dizzy about 30 min. into the session. I am very careful about hydrating, I eat a balanced breakfast 2 hrs before I meet with her and I still struggle with trying not to vomit. I work out 6 days per week so I know it's not because I'm a beginner and just trying to adjust. My blood pressure and resting heart rate are great (per my Dr.) so I'm kind of at a loss for what's up?! I tried to explain to my trainer and she said that she didn't have a clue and she hadn't had any other clients with this issue. Any ideas???

Old 11-05-2007, 02:32 PM   #2
(female)

Shelby106 HB User
Re: Dizzy & Nauseous while weight lifting! Any suggestions??

Changing to a different exercise routine that your body is not used to is possibly giving you the nausea. It's a sign that you are exerting yourself to the max. An hour maybe overdoing it. You should be able to get a good strength workout in half that time. I'm surprised that your trainer has not come across this issue before?

Make sure you do not hold your breath when training as this will raise your blood pressure and cause dizzyness and make sure your trainer is not using too much weight to start off with.

<Nausea is> the bodies way of reacting to something it's not used to. Exercises that have you going from and upright to a low position quickly can cause nausea similar to motion sickness.

I have found that most people adapt in about 2-4 weeks although some take longer.