It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2009, 03:27 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

CandP HB User
Climbing house stairs for excercise

I have two flights of stairs in my house - each with 12 steps.

I go up and down the stairs more than 10 times a day. I think it is much more that that, but being that I am home now, let's assume it could be between 10 - 25 times daily from 8 am until bedtime 11 pm.

I would like to know if you can help me figure out how much I am working out my body in terms of cardio. This is the only exercise I do at the moment, I am also a part-time student going once a week, so I get an hour's worth of walking outside.

Going up these stairs so many times a day, would it be considered descent cardio workouts? I do not run up the stairs or rush - just simple one, two etc.

Old 03-25-2009, 04:01 PM   #2
Inactive
(male)

Lourage HB User
Re: Climbing house stairs for excercise

Thats a great workout for both the legs and for cardio purposes I actually use my stairs to do my calf raises, and i used to do my cardio on them , it was called step -ups. I did it holding a heavy weight , i also liked doing intervals where i would run up the stairs as fast as i could, then would add weight, either in a backpack, or holding dumbells.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-26-2009, 12:52 AM   #3
(male)

Benevolence HB User

ah... I don't think that is good excercise.

Calf raise though is my absolute favourite excercise of all. The great thing about calf raise is you dont actually NEED weights for it. Although any weight u can get helps, as it will reduce the length of time you have to spend doing them.
When doing calf raises make sure to go up high and down low.
And do alot of calf raises each day cuz they're awesome
Try not to chicken out too soon when it starts getting hard or it won't work so well obviously.