It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2010, 08:51 AM   #1
(female)

freckles50 HB User
Cardio Question

My cardio choice is the eliptical trainer. Which is better: 40 minutes of continuous exercise on the eliptical once a day OR 30 minutes twice a day? I'm a beginner and figure 30 minutes would be a bit easier on me...to start, but maybe I can get more benefit from it by doing it twice a day. Opinions? Thanks!

Old 01-05-2010, 11:42 AM   #2
(male)

Juice3154 HB User
Re: Cardio Question

Your body needs to rest. It floors me how many people I see that come to the gym and all they do is "cardio". Day in and day out and their body never seems to change. Think about it....marathon runners look very very skinny and unhealthy in my opinion. But look at olympic sprinters. They are ripped. Why is that? Because when you sprint it releases a different chemical in your body that burns fat faster then traditional "cardio" and does it for a longer period of time after you are done. It also releases a different chemical that helps your body build muscle faster.
So I would say if your going to do something. Lift Mon, Wed, and Fri, and do windsprints for 8-10 minutes at the end of each workout. And don't think your going to bulk up by lifting weights....You won't.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-05-2010, 05:59 PM   #3
(female)

freckles50 HB User

I do weights also. Upper body one day and lower the next. I was just wondering if it was better to do 40 continuous minutes or 30 minutes twice a day. Thanks for the advice!

Old 01-06-2010, 11:15 AM   #4
(male)

webkrawler HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juice3154 View Post
It floors me how many people I see that come to the gym and all they do is "cardio". Day in and day out and their body never seems to change..