It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2012, 05:39 AM   #1
(female)

fionashrek HB User
Questions on Running

Hello!

I had a couple of questions about running:

1) While running I am a mess. I have been running since the past 10 months or so, (twice or thrice a week on an average). But I walk briskly for 5 minutes, then run for 5 minutes. I do this alternatively for 20 minutes. I am not able to run continuously, despite of the fact that it has been 10 months! I start huffing and puffing after 2.5 minutes. I run at the speed of 4.5 miles per hour only. At the most 5.5, not more than that.

Even while running for those 5 minutes, I am a mess. I push myself a lot in order to finish 5 minutes. What is it that I am doing wrong? I expected that by the end of 10 months I would be able to run continuously at least for 15 minutes!

What should I eat before running or enable me to keep my energy levels up? Why is my stamina soooo low!

2) One thing I have observed over the last few months was that my heartrate used to shoot up (165 to 170) when my speed of running used to increase.
But of late, it is about 125 on an average. What does this mean? Is this a good sign that my heart has finally adapted to the intense exercise? If yes, then why do I still huff and puff!?

Regards,
Fiona

Old 05-26-2012, 06:39 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
Re: Questions on Running