It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
Inactive
(male)

pebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB Userpebblebeach3 HB User
Tai Chi

Hi all. I am new to this particular section of the boards. I have posted under the "Spinal section" previously.

First of all here is my health situation:

- 1994 surgery on lumbar area for herniated discs;
- 1995 surgery on cervical area for stenosis;
- 1997 surgery on lumbar for "flatback syndrome" Harrington Rods;
- 2000 surgery on cervical for "kyphosis" harringtons implanted;
- 2006 spinal cord stimulator implanted;
- 2011 spinal cord stimulator removed
- other surgeries: blood clot left leg; pancreatic cancer
- other health issues: diabetic; absent left kidney congenital & kidney disease of the right kidney

Diagnostic testing:

- EMG showed severe arthritis of the cervical and lumbar region;
- severe nerve damage in the cervical and lumbar region;
- peripheral neuropathy due to diabetes and spinal issues.

I usually go to the gym and do pool therapy and treadmill and some exercises to strengthen up the upper arms and shoulder regioin; and use sauna which seams to relieve the arthritis temporarily.

Here is what I was thinking. I have heard Tai chi is a good low impact form of exercise. It helps physically; emotionally and spiritually.

I first became aware of Tai Chi years ago. I had been misdiagnosed with Parknsons disesase and heard Tai Chi was good for movement and for balance issues.

With all that is wrong with me balance issues are a problem and because of the spine and arthritis I have difficulty moving.