It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Exercise & Fitness Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 08:46 AM   #1
(female)

kambr004 HB User
Pain in lower leg from running?

I have been following a Beginner's guide to running-- and I am just beginning week 4. Week three had me running for 1 minute, then walking for two. Week 4 is running one minute, walking one minute. When I first started the program I noticed a lot of muscle tightness in my lower leg/shin area.. but that eventually went away. When I was at the end of week 3 and beginning week 4, I noticed that there was a different kind of pain directly below my knees on the inner parts of my lower legs. I looked up a leg diagram, and it looks like where my Fibula meets my Tibia is where the pain is occurring. It doesn't feel like muscle pain, just a very intense achy pain that is excruciating when I try to run.

Is this a common occurrence in beginning runners? Is there anything I can do to alleviate the pain? I really don't want to have to take time off from running because I want to keep up with the program. Any information would be helpful!

The brand of shoes I wear is New Balance. I run on a treadmill because it's just too cold out right now! And I've been trying to follow the correct form of running by landing on mid-foot. Hope that helps.

Old 01-28-2013, 10:53 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

sweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB Usersweetpotato13 HB User
Re: Pain in lower leg from running?

sounds like what is known as shin splints. Very, very common. Good for you for buying good sneakers, New Balance is a quality brand. I think that by trying to correct your stride, you are hurting yourself.

Last edited by sweetpotato13; 01-28-2013 at 10:54 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb