It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2006, 01:57 PM   #1
(female)

Flustered HB User
Exclamation Pars Planitis

I'm new to the posting boards - so I hope I'm not too long-winded!
I have been diagnosed with Pars Planitis and previously with Optic Neuritis. Been through the ringer over about 10 years with a lot of testing and NO major breakthroughs. I'm really getting burned out - but want to know if anyone out there may be experiencing similar things? I have been told I have a 50/50% chance of either having or developing MS - and now they suggest I get tested for Sarcoidosis. Thanks to anyone who can help! I'm feeling pretty alone lately.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-07-2006, 06:17 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

twoeyez HB Usertwoeyez HB User
Re: Pars Planitis

It might be helpful for you to understand some definations of Uveitis and Pars Plantis : Uveitis is an inflammation of the the uvea, the layer between the sclera and the retina, which includes the iris, ciliary body, and the choroid. Uveitis is an inflammation inside the eye, affecting the uvea. The uvea provides most of the blood supply to the retina. Causes of uveitis can include autoimmune disorders, infection, or exposure to toxins. However in many cases, the cause remains unknown.Uveitis may develop following eye trauma or surgery, in association with diseases which affect other organs in the body, or may be a condition isolated to the eye itself. Severe and permanent visual loss can result from uveitis. In addition, uveitis can lead to other ocular complications, which may produce vision loss, including glaucoma, cataracts, or retinal damage. Early detection and treatment is necessary to reduce the risk of permanent vision loss.

Uveitis is most commonly classified anatomically as anterior, intermediate, posterior, or diffuse: