It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2006, 06:45 AM   #1
(female)

Reyne HB User
All RCE suffers...I need advice

I have had RCE for 3 yrs attacks have slowed down but still occur. I scratched my cornea. Well, Oct 06 I found a Dr to laser PTK instead of sending me home with drops, gels and the sorry just have to give it time.

I am scheduled Jan 15th and have NOT had a erosion since. Not sure if I want to go through with PTK!!!??? I do not want to cause pain when things are going well...for now atleast. The Dr did say I had a distrophy....what do I do??????

What would you do??? The PTK I have heard is just like having a bad erosion...I do not want that. Is my eye healed or am I fooling myself???

Old 12-19-2006, 11:08 AM   #2
(female)

squirrel2349 HB User
Re: All RCE suffers...I need advice

Hi Reyne,

I'm no medical expert, but if it was me I would postpone the procedure and see if you continue to be erosion free. Your RCE may not be cured yet but 2 months without an erosion is a great accomplishment and PTK is surgery so besides being painful it has risks just like any surgical procedure; so why risk it if you are doing better. I too have a dystrophy and have suffered with RCE for about 4 years now. Lately it has been better, though I know I'm not yet cured but at least the major episodes have diminished. I wish you the best of luck in whatever your decision is. If you do decide to go through with the PTK, please post and let us know how it went. My doctor said that is the next option for me but I'm hoping I never have to resort to that option.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-21-2006, 06:14 AM   #3
(female)

Reyne HB User