It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Eye & Vision Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2008, 10:27 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

lucylucy HB User
Drug-store reading glasses. Are they bad?

I've been using drug-store reading glasses for several years. (I'm 50.) Someone told me that they could be bad for my eyes. They seem to work just fine for now. I only use them for reading.

If they're working, does it really matter?

They seem a lot better than the prescription glasses I got 10 years ago which were expensive and gave me bad headaches right from the start.

I had an eye exam 2 years ago. I didn't get glasses from them because I didn't trust that the prescription was correct. The assistant and doctor had very different assessments of my vision (the assistant said I wouldn't pass a driver's test), and I was getting a headache. (My migraines come with visual disturbances. )

I have cheap reading glasses in different strengths. My vision changes slightly during the day so it seems to make sense to have several choices. My favorite pair is 1.5, but I have a stronger pair that I need sometimes.

Last edited by lucylucy; 08-20-2008 at 10:31 PM.

Old 08-21-2008, 06:05 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Dancinboots HB UserDancinboots HB UserDancinboots HB UserDancinboots HB User
Re: Drug-store reading glasses. Are they bad?

I usually get mine at the dollar store and never had a problem. There's always a chart right at the rack where you put them on and read a sentence 15 inches away.

Sometimes I'm kinda careless with them by not putting them in a case all the time and occasionally losing or breaking them, so I don't feel so bad since I only paid a dollar for them. I get my sunglasses there also with no problems.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-21-2008, 06:30 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

KeelaC HB User